Our State Legislature recently enacted a law creating the Property Tax Stabilization Program, which essentially “freezes” the amount of property tax a resident must pay if they’ve lived in and owned a Maine home for at least 10 years and will be 65 years of age by April 1, 2023.
You may qualify if you are:
- Age 65 or older
- A permanent resident of Maine
- Have owned a Maine homestead for at least ten (10) years, and
- Be eligible for a homestead exemption on the property you are applying for
For a full description, details and application form, please visit the Maine Revenue Services page at:
Keep in mind: the deadline to apply for the program is December 1, 2022